Love Day

IMG_6292

Take time to stop and smell the roses! ❤

Yesterday I was blessed to receive these flowers from my hubby who was out of town for work. He actually returned a few hours later (a day early) which was a nice surprise. The day before, I had told him not to worry about getting me anything because we had enough sweets in the house, and I still have the orchids he bought me for my birthday in December. He informed me that there would be a delivery for me Saturday . . .

There is something about flowers, even if they die in a week.

Yeah, so they are often over priced (especially around the holidays), but there is something about flowers that lifts the spirit and brings a smile to the heart. I can’t stop smelling them, looking at them. I know they will soon be dead, but while they are alive I will cherish them. Isn’t our Creator amazing? He clothed the fields in flowers so beautifully dressed.

Maybe you are reading this and rolling your eyes. Maybe this is another Valentine’s Day that you will be spending alone and the day really makes you sick. I’ve been there. Trust me. But you know what? You are LOVED no matter what your relationship status is. You have a Father in heaven who loves you more than any person in the flesh could. He wants to lavish you with gifts that far surpass flowers and chocolate. His love isn’t temporary. It won’t die after a week or add pounds to your figure. For that I am thankful! 🙂

IMG_6263

You may be thinking, “Easy for you to say. You have a husband.” Beloved, I was able to come to a place in my singleness where I was content with the Father’s love. I poured over His word, searching for what He thought about me. I read spiritual books that built me up and affirmed His love for me. More importantly, I trusted that He would bring the right man into my life at precisely the right time. He is a gentleman.

Celebrate this day of love! You are someone special! Buy yourself some flowers and chocolate if need be, but take some time to dig into the greatest love story of all time—God’s word. Don’t settle for curling up on the sofa for a movie binge of love stories that will have you in tears and longing for that fairy tale romance. You are His beloved, and He loves you with an agape love—the highest form of love!  ❤

And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge–that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. —Ephesians 3:17-19

IMG_6283

Happy Love Day from the Degs!

3 thoughts on “Love Day

Leave a Reply

