You are More

b7a9830f4d97ab14ad3c5e892ed5f333

You. Are. More.

I can hear it now. You are saying, “But you don’t know what I’ve done!” And you’re right. I don’t. But God does, and He still says that you are more.

You see, He isn’t concerned about your past. When you give your life over to Him, repent of sin, and seek Truth and obedience, He casts your sins to the bottom of the sea (Micah 7:19b). However, that doesn’t mean that you won’t have to suffer consequences from your actions. Perhaps you have already repented but still find yourself falling short. It’s okay. Repent and move on.

The Oxford dictionary defines repentance as “the action of repenting; sincere regret or remorse.” In other words, to repent doesn’t mean to ask forgiveness for something yet continue doing the sin. It’s a heart change, a sincere regret. The more we walk in obedience, the better we will feel, and the more God will bless us. If we truly love Him with all of our hearts, we will desire to honor Him.

The trouble comes when we continually beat ourselves up by allowing our past mistakes to define us.

We are often our worst critics. We say that we are failures. We say that we aren’t pretty enough, smart enough, talented enough. We compare ourselves to celebrities, most of which are Photoshopped. We compare ourselves to our “friends” on social media, most of which are only highlighting the good in their lives. All the while, the noise in our heads is drowning out what our Father says about us:

We. Are. More.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, before you except a word curse from someone,  yourself, or a diagnosis from a doctor and take it on as your own, dig deep into God’s word and see what He says about you, and about the situation. Do this whenever anyone speaks something negative over you, including yourself. I will blog another day regarding word curses because I feel that there is so much more to share. In the meantime, here are a few declarations you can speak over yourself:

1.) I have the wisdom of God today. I will think the right thoughts, say the right words, and make the right decisions in every situation I face. (1 Corinthians 2:16)

2.) Through Jesus I am 100% loved and worthy to receive all of God’s blessings. (Gal 3:1-5)

3.) I declare today that I cannot be defeated, discouraged, depressed or disappointed. (Phil 4:13)

4.) As I speak God’s promises, they come to pass. They stop all attacks, assaults, oppression, and fear from my life. (2 Peter 1:2-4; Mark 11:23-24).

5.) I choose life today. I choose health. I will not be depressed today. I will not be in lack today. I will not be confused today. (Deut 30:19; Neh 8:10; Ps 103:1-3; 2 Tim 1:6,7)

There are many books available that have declarations you can speak. I personally like John Eckhardt’s books.

Beloved, you are one of a kind. You are loved. You are beautiful (or handsome). You are special. You are valued. You are healed. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Enjoy this song.

 

4 thoughts on “You are More

  1. Love this song!
    My mom and I were just talking yesterday about seeing ourselves the way God sees us through Jesus – as His wholly and dearly loved children. Since that is how He declares me, I must fight what the world wants me to think of myself. Sometimes I fight my own thoughts. To hear His truth about who I am in Christ. Thanks for this post, Jennifer!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jennifer
    LOVED these declarations that are Scripturally based….When can never refute Scripture….We can easily lose sight of who we are in Christ when our focus is temporal (seen – feelings and behavior) and not eternal (that which is unseen based on our faith)…God calls us to live in the faith realm….Living through faith we come to understand how God truly sees us but yes, you are correct that Satan wants us to believe the lie of what our feelings and behavior tells us….
    Love you much Jennifer….Your Blog is such a blessing to me….TGBTG!
    MIKE

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Mike! I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment. And yes, many people (including Christians) are having an identity crises. They believe in God, go to church, and may even read their Bible, but are wondering why they can’t receive break though in a certain area of their lives. While I believe a lot of time deliverance may be needed to bind up that strongman, I also know that much of it is a result of our thinking, and thinking like the world rather than heaven. It’s a battle between flesh and spirit, that’s for sure. However, once we realize who we are in Christ and what He thinks of us, other people’s opinions won’t matter. Have a wonderful week!
      Jennifer ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

