The Pressure’s Off

A new year is often accompanied by expectations and a long list of resolutions. It’s a fresh start, and often times the pressure is enough to make someone crack. I know, because I’m a list maker.

I don’t make resolutions for the new year. Usually halfway through the year they are forgotten about because they are too big, and seem impossible to attain. Instead, I make quarterly goals and track my progress on a quarterly goal tracker sheet. I have a daily time blocking to-do list (setting times for when I will accomplish something) and a master to-do list as well.

I had to get to a place where I didn’t beat myself up when I didn’t cross everything off of my to-do list for the day, or meet my quarterly goals. I’m also still working on allowing Holy Spirit to guide me through my day, even if that means taking a detour from my plans. However, I know one thing that will always be on my list first thing in the morning: spending time in my war room/prayer closet.

I echo the words of the title from my first post last year: letting go. That is exactly what I am doing this year. No, that doesn’t mean I am ditching my goals or to-do lists because I do believe in using my time wisely, but it does mean that this year I am going to be easier on myself.

The pressure’s off.

I will hold my plans loosely in my hands while being sensitive to Holy Spirit and where He wants to lead me. If He prompts me to pray for a woman at the grocery store,  I most certainly will obey. I will allow myself to be open to His promptings rather than being so focused on moving on to the next task.

Most importantly, I will make it a goal to have more of God’s peace this year, rather than allowing all that needs to be done around me affect my mood. In the grand scheme of things, it’s just not that important. When I get to heaven Jesus isn’t going to ask me how organized my house was or whether I successfully completed my to-do lists. No, I have a feeling He will ask me how I loved others and what I did with the gospel He gave me.

My prayer is that 2016 will be the best year for you yet, and that you can take the pressure off as well. May Jesus lead you in peace and truth this year, and may you feel a greater awareness of His presence.

Enjoy this song.

 

4 thoughts on “The Pressure’s Off

  1. JEN
    Hi, my dear “daughter” and friend……Yes, a new year…..Letting Go and letting God…..Thanks for including Staffany’s song…What an inspiration to your new year to just let go and rest in the love of our Savior….Her song and its words set a beautiful tone or worship….Thank you…
    God has a plan and definite direction for you and Casey….I want to share this verse of God’s promise of peace no matter the situation.
    “Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed,” says the LORD, who has compassion on you. Isaiah 54:10
    God is your peace in all circumstances….
    I join you in great expectation to what God has for us this new year…How sweet to rest in His peace knowing that we are in His hands…
    Much Love
    “Dad” Mike

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kind words “Dad,” as well as for the scripture. Brought tears to my eyes. As I deal with more changes with my mom, clinging to Jesus is the only way I can have peace. I am praying for more compassion this year among other things. Thank you so much for your encouragement. It means more than you know.
      Love and Blessings,
      “Daughter” Jennifer

      Like

  2. “I will hold my plans loosely in my hands while being sensitive to Holy Spirit and where He wants to lead me. ” – Yes!! This year, I want to be more aware of His presence, I want to see Him and obediently follow where He leads me. So often MY plans interfere and distract me from the Holy Spirit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

