Meet Tendai

This is the photo from Craigslist.

I’m beyond excited…First, let me begin by saying, yes, I named an inanimate object. Don’t judge. 😜

So, Monday at the VA, I saw a lady on a tiny scooter that looked neat. I’ve been in the market for a new one as mine is so big and heavy (it’s a Pride Go-Go), and on it’s last leg. I didn’t ask her what it was called, but was able to find an image of it on GoogleΒ the next morning. There were no prices online, so I called the company that makes them (you can’t buy them anywhere else) and found out they are $2,500! 😳 I was thinking they would be $500 or so because there is nothing to them… Ha.

Well, the guy I spoke with suggested I check Craigslist, so yesterday morning after we hung up I did, and out of the Tampa Bay Area (4 counties) there was only 1 for sale, and it had just been posted 9 hours before I saw it! (God wink!)

I called the company to ask some questions and they looked up the seller by first name and location and confirmed it was 3 years old. It is the older model that has a drive belt and doesn’t reverse, but she said it is still a great scooter and the guy was selling it at a great price. So, I drove to Land O’ Lakes this afternoon to check it out and got it! I’m SO stoked to not have to put my scooter together and take it apart several times a day. I picked this up WHOLE and put it in the back of my car! It weighs only 35 lbs. total, compared to the 99.5 lbs. of my current scooter (of course it comes apart, but the heaviest piece is about 55 lbs.). The battery alone on my Pride Go-Go is 35 lbs.! I feel like I have even more mobility now! I’ll need to get used to backing it up manually, but over all I am pleased with how this all worked out, and how God orchestrated the whole thing.

The possibilities are endless with this thing!

So, back to the name. My dad always had a knack for new things. Motorcycles, Cessna planes, computer equipment, you name it. After his health really took a turn for the worst, he got into scooters. The scooter I currently have I purchased from him I believe in 2011 for $500. It was practically new, yet now, having gone through an accident with it in the car (that one was not my fault), it has gotten pretty banged up. Β Those who have seen it can attest to that. Here’s a pic of it from Daddy’s blog when it was new:

Her name was Tambaa (and still is I suppose), which is Swahili for “walk slowly or crawl.” And that’s pretty much what she did (and still does), even after I replaced the batteries…

It saddens me that Daddy isn’t here to see Tendai, blog about her, and likely order one for himself. I know he would be just as excited as I am pouring over the videos and photos of this amazing contraption. However, like most of his scooters, I have a feeling he’d be blogging about the cons, as it does require caution while riding due to the 3 wheels. He probably wouldn’t like the fact that it doesn’t reverse (this older model), and that you have to hit the brakes when coming to a stop unlike the Go-Go that simply stops. But I think she will be a good fit for me.

To honor Daddy, and carry on my love for Africa, I decided to name her Tendai. I normally wouldn’t name the thing, but Daddy always did, so I did it for him. πŸ˜„ Tendai means “be thankful” in Shona. It’s a great reminder, as I truly do have so much to be thankful for, including coming across this scooter.

The inventor of the TravelScoot and a friend showing more options for the scooter.

If you want to check out Daddy’s posts on his scooters to see why I wanted to name mine, click here: Β Daddy’s Scooters

Daddy on Silverado several years back . . .

Daddy on Silverado several years back . . .

We both had annual passes to Busch Gardens Africa in Tampa, and loved visiting there often together. In fact, that is where my hubby proposed to me. 😊 I used to go by myself with my Canon AE-1 film camera that Daddy had given me years ago and shoot rolls of film of the wildlife. We used to go to Budweiser Beer School each time we visited and get a certificate, lol. I remember how sad it was when they tore down the brewery and got rid of the Hospitality House. It just didn’t seem the same, and Daddy was disappointed with the changes. In fact I was stationed in Bahrain when he told me Busch Gardens was being sold to Inbev, and there was rumor that the amusement part and wildlife would be taken away, as they weren’t interested in that. I cried. Thank goodness that hasn’t happened.

Daddy and I on the Skyride at BG years ago.

Daddy and I on the Skyride at BG years ago.

Here is a video I made today driving Tendai for the first time after buying her. When I say, “brand new,” I mean that it’s new to me. πŸ˜‰ I have also included a short video showing the Travelscoot in action. I’m excited!Β People travel all over the world on this thing, including the Holy Land, which I have wanted to do but didn’t think I could manage it with Tambaa. Oh, and I ordered the red pouch that you see in the other pictures. πŸ˜‰

Check out this short video showing how you can put it in a car in one piece, or fold it up (watch until the end):

15 thoughts on “Meet Tendai

  1. Hi Jenn
    So enjoyed meeting Tendai….Just what you needed….God was good to lead you to her…Thanks for all the videos and pictures…I took time to visit your dad’s blog….He was quite an individual and I can see he meant the world to you….I remember Joe Cocker’s, “You Are So Beautiful”…..Brought back memories seeing that video….It was good to read more about your dad and his “loves”…Thank you for sharing more about the relationship you shared together…Tendai is perfect for you…it (or should I say “she”) runs well and at a good clip, too…light and more easily transported, too….Good job, my friend! I always appreciate reading The Wind, The Waves and the Anchor….You are a very special young lady….God has been good to you in so many ways….
    Blessings upon you, Jenn….
    MIKE

    Liked by 2 people

  2. SO happy for you honey!! What a God send! You can even walk the dog, how cool is that πŸ™‚ Love how the right thing shows up at the right moment…God is good like that! Thanks for sharing the good news. Love you!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks mom! Yes, I am stoked! Of course I walked Dally with my other scooter, but it was a pain loading and unloading it when Casey is deployed to do so. Now I can keep that one on the back porch for those times (although I really want to take him for a walk NOW just to use my new one again)! πŸ™‚ I love being able to take it out in one piece and put it in my car in one piece as well. No more taking out the heavy back end of my other one, taking out the front part, hooking it on, latching it, plugging the connectors in, putting the 35 lb. battery on, and then attaching the seat. HALLELUJAH! This this is FAST too! Gotta be careful! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. How cool is this, Jenn? You’ll have so much more freedom and mobility (and fresh air and exercise). It pays to research and ask questions of helpful people and you do that well. Praising the Lord with you for this gift. Now you can add Tendal to your list of 1,000.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. Nothing has changed. I either keep things as they are or attempt this other surgery which has no promises of working. I’ve been sick with the flu since Tuesday so haven’t been on here much (or blogged this past week). I pray you are doing well. πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’ž

      Like

Leave a Reply

