Crossroads

Biloxi Lighthouse in Mississippi during Cruisin’ the Coast 2015.

This is what the LORD says: ‘Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls.’ -Jeremiah 6:16a

I love this verse. It’s encouraging. It’s hopeful. However, if we don’t read the last part we will miss the point: “But you said, ‘We will not listen.'”  -Jeremiah 6:16b

Ouch. The LORD was talking to his people Israel, but isn’t the same true for our nation? God is wanting us to live a life of abundance, but instead we live selfishly, wanting to satisfy our cravings with the next thing that crosses our path. But God wants us to walk the ancient path, the good path. He loves us more than we could think or imagine. 💞

How can you relate to this verse in your own life?

4 thoughts on “Crossroads

  1. Every day we find ourselves in the crossroads and we have the freedom to make a choice…..I pray that my everyday walk with Jesus will help me to make that choice to take that road that leads to where God is already work….He is inviting me to join Him….God will lead through my obedience…
    MIKE .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this verse, too, and even the part that reminds me of my humanity…and not listening. In busyness, I can fail to make time with Him THE priority of the day. I’ll never look at a crossroads quite the same way again. We must stop at the crossroad and think, “Hmmm, which way should I go?” Or maybe, “Should I simply rest in Him today?” He is so gentle with us, and gracious, too. I don’t every want to take that grace for granted.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes Cheryl! It’s a choice we have to make wisely. It’s so easy to rush onto one path being led by feelings, but often times following our heart can lead us into a ditch. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this! 💞

      Like

Leave a Reply

