Pursuit

finish-line

Let us know,
Let us pursue the knowledge of the Lord.
His going forth is established as the morning;
He will come to us like the rain,
Like the latter and former rain to the earth. —Hosea 6:3

Life is hard. I get it. Prayers seem unanswered. Days seem long. To-do lists don’t get done. We don’t seem to thrive, but strive. The Father looks down lovingly upon us and says, “My child, all you need to do is pursue me, and everything else will fall into place.” But oh, how difficult that can be.

I look at God and relationship with Him as my ultimate goal, yet so much seems to get in the way and hinder that pursuit. I give Him an hour or so each morning, some worship throughout the day, and a couple of days at church throughout the week, but insecurities show up, offense rears it’s ugly head, and Satan whispers lie after lie into my ear to try and make me feel like a failure. Can anyone else relate?

I’ve had this growing urge to pursue Papa harder, with a driving force of faith that can’t be stopped. Not by my circumstances. Not by relationships. Not by my perception of things. Just a passionate pursuit that stops at nothing. To pursue something is to not stop until it is obtained. Dictionary.com defines pursuit as “an effort to secure or attain; quest.” Ultimately, we can’t “obtain” God until we get to heaven, but we do have His Spirit in us. In other words, it’s a thirst we should never have quenched. We should always desire to go deeper, to experience Him more, being taken from glory to glory.

And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.
 —2 Corinthians 3:18 (NIV)

But it’s difficult. Life get’s in the way. Right? But oh, how I desire to go deeper, to experience Him more, to receive such revelation of His love and my identity in Him. It’s all in the pursuit. If I stop the pursuit I cannot obtain the prize. In fact, Paul talks about this very thing:

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it.
 —1 Corinthians 9:24 (ESV)

We mustn’t run aimlessly, or get sidetracked from the race because someone is handing out Gatorade samples on the sideline. No, we must continue in pursuit of the One who can give us everything we need or desire. After all, it’s in Him that we will find rest.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. —Matthew 11:28 (NIV)

You might say, “But that’s contradictory. How can I be running a race and find rest?” Well beloved, God’s is an upside down kingdom. In order to be first, you must be last. In order to go higher, you must get lower. In pursuing Him, in meditating on His word and keeping it hidden in our hearts, we will receive revelation of His love, of our identity in Him, and ultimately obtain a peace that surpasses all understanding even in the midst of the race. How glorious is that?! Enjoy this song. Enjoy the race. Rest in the pursuit. ❤

4 thoughts on “Pursuit

  1. Jen
    David is described as a man after God’s own heart…(2 Samuel 13:14) and Jen you are certainly a young lady seeking after God’s own heart, as well….I love reading what you write…Your entries hit home to me and to your readers…Your openness and transparency is what makes you real and authentic.
    I thank God for you and for who you are….
    You know you are so very special to me…..

    I know a Jeweler in OK who is about your age…She could be a twin….She had a serious car accident in which it is a miracle she survived…She has had seven surgeries on her ankle, she has been in and out of hospitals…sound familiar? Her name is Autumn. I would love to connect you with her…You both could share your respective stories and be a mutual encouragement….

    Love,
    Your Texas Dad….

    Mike

    Mike Glenn
    Prayer Services
    Premier Designs, Inc
    800-899-0092
    mglenn@premierdesigns.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awwwwww, thanks so much Dad! 😄 Your words brought tears to my eyes. It is such a blessing to have you in my life. I remember you mentioned Autumn to me before, but we never connected. I would love to connect with her. Feel free to give her my number, email, blog address, whatever. 😊 Thanks for your prayers and for taking the time to read my blog and comment. May God bless you!
      Love,
      Your Florida Daughter,
      Jennifer

      Like

Leave a Reply

