Remembrance

Photo I took years ago at the Norfolk zoo.

Photo I took years ago at the Norfolk zoo.

“The LORD who delivered me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.” -1Samuel 17:37

While reading in 1 Samuel this morning, I happened across this verse that I had highlighted in my Bible, and I remember why. There is such an importance to remembering what God has done for you in order to trust and believe that He WILL see you through to the end.

The Israelites celebrated Passover each year in order to remember their liberation by God from slavery in Egypt (and still do to this day). At the last supper, Jesus told the disciples how to receive communion saying, ” . . . do this in remembrance of me” (1 Corinthians 11:24). We are to first give thanks to God, and then partake in the Eucharist (Holy Communion). I find it interesting that the greek word Eucharisteo actually means “thanksgiving,” and that is precisely what the Eucharist is—thanksgiving.

It is remembering what the Lord has done for us, thanking him for it, and waiting expectantly for what’s to come.

As a young shepherd boy, David could have easily been discouraged from fighting against the Philistine. After all, Saul said, “You are not able to go out against this Philistine and fight him; you are only a boy, and he has been a fighting man from his youth” (1 Samuel 17:33). David could have thrown in the towel and said, “You’re right. What was I thinking? I’ll go back to tend my sheep,” but he didn’t. He remembered what the Lord had done for him in the past— that he had killed both a lion and a bear with his bare hands thanks to the Lord. This gave him the confidence he needed to slay Goliath.

It’s so easy for us to look at our current circumstances and become discouraged and defeated. I reflect on my own situation with my ankle fusion, the set back in my healing, and all of my limitations, and could easily pull the pity card and complain about the hand that life dealt me. But instead, I choose to remember where I have been, and the hand that has held me along the way. My life was spared when it could have been my end on this earth. I am able to walk (although not at this very moment) when I was told by two head orthopedic surgeon’s that my injury was the worst they had seen and I’d never walk again. I was able to have an ankle fusion when I thought an amputation was in order. I have SO much to be thankful for, and to remember!

My challenge for you today (and everyday) is to spend time remembering what the Lord has brought your through, both great and small. Doing this often will bring you the courage you need to slay the giants in your life when they come along. May you be blessed and discover a joy-filled life through remembrance.

“And he took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to them, saying, ‘This is my body, which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.'” -Luke 22:19

2 thoughts on “Remembrance

  1. Jen
    Thank you, friend! Always so good to remember to be thankful……”Give thanks to the Lord for He is good…His love endures forever…..”
    I know you are thankful for the healing you have experienced thus far to have avoided what doctors had first told you about the strong possibility of amputation…Keep being obedient…..SMILE!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

